Microwaving Your Cat Violates Your Lease

This little nugget of wisdom was recently passed on to some of our preventative legal education workshop attendees at the Neighborhood Christian Legal Clinic.

It was my first legal workshop presentation that I put on by myself.  They all sat along tables and I sat in the middle in a chair.  I talked about what was required of a landlord and moved on to what was required of a tenant.  To give a practical example of a lease default I said: “you know, if you have to use your appliances reasonably and can’t have pets…you probably shouldn’t start microwaving your cat.”  A few of the women looked at me with puzzled looks and a few nervously chuckled.

“OR”…said one of the workers, “you have a cat and you aren’t supposed to?”

“That is probably a better example.”

Leave a Reply

