Recipes We Love: Simple and Delicious Shakes

I actually made this for breakfast this morning because I’m an adult and I can.  I won’t make a habit of it though because I don’t feel like dying of heart disease by age 50.  Here are the tools and ingredients:

You need a blender (or even better, a malt mixer), your favorite vanilla ice cream, some milk, and the secret ingredient:Land O’ Lakes Hot Chocolate Mix.  The absolute best for milkshakes are the chocolate mint, pictured above, and the rasberry chocolate, although any of the flavors will work.

For two servings I put together 8-10 scoops of ice cream and about 2 cups of milk.  You can adjust these amounts to get your desired consistency.  For instance, I added more ice cream and less milk so that Meaghan could enjoy hers on the way to work.

Should look about like this:

 If not, just do what I do.  Consume and start again.  In order to tell if it is good, hand it to your wife and see how much she talks for the next five minutes.  Also, Social Security is a Ponzi scheme.  Look it up.

One thought on “Recipes We Love: Simple and Delicious Shakes

  1. Here’s what I make a few times a week in the morning for breakfast, except I call them Green Smoothies:
    1 frozen banana
    1 large handful of raw baby spinach
    1 cup of frozen fruit (pineapple, strawberries, mango – anything that you like)
    1/2 cup of coconut kefir (or regular plain yogurt, if you’re not avoiding dairy like I try to do)
    1/2 cup vanilla almond milk (or regular milk – see above)
    1 T. ground flax seed (opt)
    ~ Blend on high for 3 minutes or until smooth/creamy. Pour into a large glass and enjoy

Leave a Reply

